Social scientists well-represented among New Year Honours

3 January 2015

Heather Joshi

Social scientists were well-represented among the New Year Honours 2015. Among those who were given awards were:


  • Julian Le Grand, Richard Titmuss professor of social policy at the London School of Economics, for services to social science and public service.
  • Nigel Thrift, vice-chancellor of the University of Warwick, for services to higher education.


  • Teresa Rees, professor of social science at Cardiff University, for services to social sciences.


  • Heather Joshi, emeritus professor of economic and developmental demography at the UCL Institute of Education, for services to longitudinal and women’s studies.
  • Peter Rees, professor of places and city planning at University College London, for services to architecture and town planning
  • Paul Webley, director of Soas, University of London, for services to higher education.
  • Bill Whyte, professor of social work studies in criminal and youth justice at the University of Edinburgh, for services to youth justice in Scotland.
  • Fiona Murray, professor of entrepreneurship at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, for services to entrepreneurship and innovation.


  • Diane Birch, professor of law at the University of Nottingham, for services to higher education.
  • Joan Hunt, honorary professor at Cardiff Law School, for services to children.
  • Iram Siraj, professor of early childhood education at UCL Institute of Education, for services to education.


  • Uduak Archibong, professor of diversity at the University of Bradford, for services to higher education and equality.
  • Jan Burns, head of the School of Psychology, Politics and Sociology at Canterbury Christ Church University, for services to people with intellectual disabilities.
  • Susan Hallam, emerita professor of education and music psychology at UCL Institute of Education, for services to music education.
  • Katharine Heron, professor of architecture at the University of Westminster, for services to architecture and higher education.
  • Michael Jubb, director at the Research Information Network, for services to the social sciences.

British Empire Medal

  • Elizabeth Trail, lecturer at Bishop Barham University College, for education services in Uganda.