Professor Shamit Saggar CBE FAcSS steps down as Chair of the Campaign for Social Sciences

13 February 2019

Professor Shamit Saggar CBE FAcSS has been at the helm of the Campaign for Social Science since September 2017. A vocal advocate for the social sciences, he has championed the use of research to help make policy and practice more evidence-based. Shamit oversaw a time of significant growth for the Campaign – both in terms of key supporters and by convening and chairing numerous stimulating Strategic Leadership Forums, which as a result, have become established and much-anticipated events at the Campaign.

He expanded the Campaign Board bringing thought leaders from both academia and the practitioner sector together. His chairmanship was forward-looking, with a focus on developing the Campaign’s work and introducing new initiatives highlighting the valuable contribution social science makes to our society.

Under Shamit’s guidance the Campaign’s Annual Lecture, held in partnership with Sage Publishing, has gone from strength to strength. Notable keynote speakers of recent years include Paul Johnson, Director of the Institute of Fiscal Studies and Professor Louise Richardson, Vice-Chancellor of Oxford University.

Shamit, an Emeritus Professor of Political Science has taken up a new role as Director of the new Public Policy Institute at University of Western Australia, Perth. This builds on his expertise at the intersection of academia and practice, having held academic appointments at Sussex, Queen Mary, UCLA, Yale and Toronto, as well as leadership roles in the regulatory, legal, financial and non-profit sectors. He was appointed CBE for services to social science and public policy in the Queen’s Birthday Honours 2017.

We wish Shamit the best as he embarks on his new role. We are delighted that Professor James Wilsdon has kindly agreed to return to be Interim Chair of the Campaign for Social Science, while the Academy puts in place the process to select a new Chair. James chaired the Campaign from 2013 to 2017.